David P. Michaels Elected President of the Foreign Press Association

(New York, January 6, 2014) The Foreign Press Association, (“FPA”), today announced the election of David P. Michaels as its new President. Michaels, an advisor to Heads of State and business leaders; strategy advisor; communications consultant; journalist and author, was formerly First Vice President of the organization.

Michaels succeeds Alan Capper, who served the FPA as President from 2006 to 2013. “The Foreign Press Association was the first organization serving the needs of international journalists in the U.S. I am delighted to be assuming its leadership at a time of unprecedented change and opportunity in the media industry,” said Michaels. “During the coming year, we will be launching a range of initiatives to ensure the FPA continues to be a preeminent international media association by meeting our members’ changing needs as we move closer to our second century of operation.” In 2014 the FPA will focus on providing support to its international members through orientation and networking opportunities; news making and educational events that bring journalists together with political, business and other leaders; a broader range of member benefits and services; and providing scholarships to the next generation of international reporters studying at U.S. journalism schools. “As we build on new initiatives, we look forward to the active engagement of existing and new members to make 2014, and thereafter, an exciting era for the organization,” added Michaels. “I would like to thank Alan Capper for his many years of service.”

The Foreign Press Association represents about 400 members of the foreign media based in the United States of America. At its first official meeting at the beginning of 1918, it had eleven members: eight British, two French, and one Italian. At that first meeting, two of the founding members tossed a coin to decide who should be President. In November 1918, President Wilson recognized and thanked the FPA for its contributions to the war efforts.

Since its founding, the FPA has honored individuals from the arts, sciences, politics and other fields, and supported many aspiring journalists through its scholarship fund. At the Foreign Press Awards, honorees have included: Albert Einstein, Tennessee Williams, Elizabeth Taylor, David Lean, Mike Nichols, Henry Kissinger, and Walter Cronkite.